NCL NN – Man Descending by Guy Vanderhaeghe

Previous Book Next Book

Man Descending  was not included in Series One, Series Two or Series Three.

Man Descending by Guy Vanderhaeghe (New Canadian Library) front coverSeries Five

From the Back Cover:

Man Descending is Guy Vanderhaeghe’s superb first book of fiction. In its twelve stories, with settings that range from a Canadian prairie farm to a London neighbourhood of Bloomsbury, Vanderhaeghe captures brilliantly and with compassion the terrors and the joys of life., revealing the complexities of the world through the eyes of an eleven-year-old boy or in the ruminations of an old man nearing death. Sometimes rollicking with laughter, at other times deeply sinister and foreboding, the stories together make a vibrant assessment of the human condition.

Originally published in 1982, Man Descending won the Governor General’s Award for Fiction.

Previous Book Next Book

Leave a Reply